Apps to make money: which ones pay and how do you choose?
Apps to make money reward different kinds of effort, from surveys and walking to cashback, games, and short tasks. This comparison helps you check publishers, payout thresholds, eligible countries, and timing—without treating an app-store rating as proof that every reward gets paid.

Finding apps to make money is easy. Understanding what you can actually withdraw takes more work. A displayed balance may still need approval. A gift card is not a bank transfer. And a PayPal option described on a US page may not be available where you live. The important number is not simply what appears on the screen.
A useful comparison connects your effort to an outcome: money received, a gift card you can use, or savings on a purchase you already planned. This guide explains what to check before committing your time. It also separates documented conditions from missing local information, so a reward advertised for another country does not become your withdrawal target by mistake.
- Joko bank-transfer threshold
- €20
- Different from the gift-card threshold.
- Swagbucks $5 PayPal reward
- 530 SB
- US-dollar catalog; check availability in your account.
- Prolific withdrawal arrival
- Within 24 hours
- In PayPal after requesting cashout, not after finishing a study.
- First Microtaches bank withdrawal
- 15,000 Ops
- Balance needed to request 5,000 Ops while retaining the reserve.
These figures describe different things: a cash threshold, a price in points, a payment timeline, and a required account balance. None tells you how much you will earn. Ask instead: What can I request, through which payment method, under what conditions, and after which approval? That is the comparison that helps you decide.
What are the warning signs of a money-making app scam?
Before looking at rewards, look at what you are asked to provide. Stop if someone demands a deposit, an account “recharge,” or a fee to release your earnings. The FTC identifies a demand to pay for a job or to receive your earnings as a sure sign of a scam. A convincing dashboard does not make that request legitimate.
Fake recruitment can begin with a professional-looking message. Cybermalveillance.gouv.fr describes scams initiated through text messages, WhatsApp, and Telegram. Do not move work off the platform at a stranger’s request. Never give that person your password, a secret code, or a code sent to your phone.
Referral programs also require judgment. Not every referral arrangement is a pyramid scheme. However, France’s DGCCRF explains that pyramid selling is prohibited in France: earnings come mainly from recruitment rather than product sales. Being required to recruit more participants before accessing your balance is a serious warning sign.
- Good sign:The publisher is named in accessible legal information.
- Good sign:Withdrawal conditions are understandable.
- Good sign:Official support explains verification and dispute procedures.
- Warning sign:You must pay to receive your earnings.
- Warning sign:Someone demands a deposit or account recharge.
- Warning sign:Someone asks for a secret code or a code received by text.
- Warning sign:You must work off-platform through WhatsApp or Telegram.
- Warning sign:Your earnings depend mainly on recruiting participants.
Which apps to make money fit the effort you want to put in?
Start with your routine, not a ranking. If you already walk regularly, walking rewards may complement that habit. If you have a purchase planned, cashback—a rebate on part of that purchase—may reduce its cost. Those are different benefits. Neither should be treated as a predictable replacement for regular earnings.
Survey apps require questionnaire responses. Research platforms pay for participation in specific studies. Games and offers have objectives you need to read before starting. Microtaches uses short tasks and the displayed instructions. The number of tasks varies by day, country, and profile. Choose an effort you can complete carefully, rather than the largest headline reward.
| Service | Main effort | Identified publisher or company | Documented payment options | Documented threshold or cost | |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Swagbucks | Swagbucks | Surveys, games, cashback | Prodege, LLC | PayPal, gift cards | $5 PayPal: 530 SB in the dollar catalog; not a confirmed French threshold |
| Freecash | Freecash | Tasks, surveys, offers | Almedia GmbH | PayPal, gift cards, cryptocurrency | PayPal: $5 after the first successful cashout; check initial threshold |
| WeWard | WeWard | Walking | WEWARD | Bank transfers, gift cards | No established universal cash threshold; check catalog |
| Joko | Joko | Cashback on purchases | Wylr | Bank transfers, gift cards | Bank transfer: €20 |
| Toluna | Toluna | Surveys | Toluna SAS | PayPal, shopping vouchers; check local availability | France: not confirmed |
| AttaPoll | AttaPoll | Surveys | AttaPoll Ltd | PayPal, gift cards | Around $3 in local currency in a 2022 guide; varies by country |
| YouGov | YouGov | Surveys | YouGov plc | Bank transfers and gift cards documented in the US | Varies by reward and panel; French threshold not confirmed |
| Prolific | Prolific | Online research studies | Prolific Academic Ltd | PayPal | Combined approved GBP/USD balance: stated £6/$6 threshold |
| Microtaches | Microtaches | Short tasks | Legal company name: not disclosed | Bank transfers, mobile money, electronic wallets | 5,000 Ops minimum; 10,000 Ops nonwithdrawable reserve; method-specific thresholds |
Sources: Swagbucks — About, PayPal catalog, and Redeeming Rewards help; Freecash — Terms, Support, and First Withdrawal help; WeWard — terms and reward-redemption help; Joko — French App Store and balance-redemption help; Toluna — US App Store and Rewards page; AttaPoll — Terms, Help, and PayPal guide published in 2022; YouGov — UK App Store, US rewards help, and Morocco redemption help; Prolific — supplier documentation and cashout help; Microtaches rules. Checked in November. Methods are not necessarily available in every country. Mobile money is a phone-based payment service; an electronic wallet is an online payment account; cryptocurrencies are digital currencies.
A useful trust badge should point to a specific piece of evidence, not a general impression. The criteria below make comparisons easier; they are not approval from a regulator. Look for the supporting condition and when it was checked. For the mobile side, see our guide to microtask apps.
- Publisher identified: an accessible source names the company.
- Cash withdrawal documented: money is available, not just merchandise or gifts.
- Local threshold documented: the country and payment method are specified.
- Payment timeline stated: the starting point is explained.
- Public rating contextualized: store, rating count, and observation month are provided.
- Effort explained: conditions are readable before you begin.
How do you compare cashout thresholds without mixing up rewards?
Always check what “starting at” refers to. Joko’s official balance-redemption help separates bank transfers starting at €20, gift cards at €15, and donations at €5. Only the bank-transfer option sends money to your bank account. A lower redemption threshold does not necessarily mean an earlier cash withdrawal.
| EUR | |
|---|---|
| Bank transfer | €20 |
| Gift card | €15 |
| Charity donation | €5 |
Swagbucks’ US-dollar PayPal catalog lists prices in SB, its points unit. Those listings do not establish a French threshold in euros. A listed reward can also be unavailable. Check the individual reward in your account before building your plan around it, especially if you need a particular currency or denomination.
| SB | |
|---|---|
| PayPal $5 | 530 SB |
| PayPal $10 | 1,030 SB |
| PayPal $25 | 2,530 SB |
Keep the distinction clear: a threshold tells you when a request becomes possible, not when you will reach it. It does not measure available opportunities or the time required. Compare the threshold, first-withdrawal requirements, applicable fees, and locally available rewards separately. A small minimum is useful only if you can reach it and receive the reward.

Are Swagbucks and Freecash good choices if you want variety?
Swagbucks: varied activities, but check the reward catalog
Swagbucks is a Prodege, LLC rewards brand offering surveys, games, and cashback, among other activities. That variety lets you select a mechanism suited to your habits. Its documented rewards include PayPal, digital gift cards, and charitable donations. Availability depends on the account and region, so the general list is not a substitute for your own catalog.
For PayPal, Swagbucks’ catalog allows up to 10 business days for receipt. That is a more cautious upper limit than the shorter timeline in its general help article. Do not plan an urgent expense around the reward. Our Swagbucks review explains the conditions and limitations worth checking from France.
Freecash: separate the first cashout from later withdrawals
Freecash identifies Almedia GmbH as its platform provider, with special provisions for certain gift-card services. Its help describes tasks, surveys, and offers, plus PayPal, gift cards, and cryptocurrency payouts. Read the objectives and any spending requirements first. Spending money does not become worthwhile merely because an offer displays a reward.
Freecash’s first-withdrawal help requires identity verification. It documents $5 for subsequent PayPal withdrawals, but the initial threshold needs checking in your account. Contractual timing and applicable fees also remain to be confirmed. Read our Freecash review and our guide to understanding game rewards.
Do WeWard and Joko help you earn money or save on spending?
WeWard: walking rewards with a changing catalog
WeWard is a walking-rewards app published by the French company WEWARD. It documents bank transfers, gift cards, and support for charitable projects. Its appeal is adding rewards to an activity you already do. That is a better starting point than treating everyday walking as a predictable source of earnings or planning expenses around future rewards.
WeWard uses reward points called Wards. The number required for a reward can change, so there is no established universal conversion rate here. WeWard’s redemption help allows up to 15 business days after verification for a transfer or gift card. Our WeWard review explains what to watch in your catalog.
Joko: useful savings only when the purchase makes sense
Joko is a cashback and shopping app whose French App Store listing identifies Wylr as the publisher. The sensible approach is to find savings on something you already intended to buy. Purchasing more to increase a reward balance can raise your total spending, even while the app shows progress toward redemption.
Joko’s transfer help states that a bank payment can take up to 7 business days to arrive. That describes payment delivery, not how long it takes to build an available balance. Accepted residence countries and banking restrictions still need checking. Our Joko review helps separate genuine savings from additional shopping.
Which money-making apps should you consider for surveys?
Toluna, AttaPoll, and YouGov belong to the survey category, but their reward catalogs are not interchangeable. Your profile needs to match available questionnaires. A low threshold can help without ensuring enough opportunities to reach it quickly. Check rewards for your local panel—the participant group associated with your country—rather than borrowing another region’s conditions.
Toluna: the local catalog matters most
Toluna Influencers’ US App Store listing identifies Toluna SAS as its publisher. Its international rewards page mentions PayPal and shopping vouchers. That page does not establish the French threshold or local payment timeline, and it cannot confirm the same options everywhere. Our Toluna review explains why the catalog inside your account matters.
AttaPoll: an indicative threshold, not a confirmed French amount
AttaPoll’s terms identify AttaPoll Ltd. Its PayPal guide, published in 2022, describes around $3 expressed in local currency, varying by country. That does not establish “€3 in France.” The same guide allows up to 72 hours when additional verification is needed. Check your app’s current conditions and read our AttaPoll review.
YouGov: rewards depend on the panel
YouGov’s UK App Store listing identifies YouGov plc as the publisher. Its French-language help for Morocco says required points vary by reward and panel. Bank transfers and gift cards documented in US help do not establish availability in France or Morocco. Our YouGov review covers the distinctions to check before participating.
Is Prolific a better fit than a traditional survey app?
Prolific connects researchers with paid participants for online studies. The identified company is Prolific Academic Ltd. The effort centers on research participation rather than a catalog combining shopping and rewards. It may suit you if you enjoy following specific instructions and can give a study your attention, rather than squeezing it into constant interruptions.
Prolific’s official cashout help uses the combined approved GBP and USD balance, with a stated £6/$6 threshold. Withdrawals go to PayPal in the original earning currencies. Check what your PayPal account can receive and consider any currency conversion before deciding whether this payment route works for you.
Prolific states that a requested withdrawal arrives within 24 hours. That clock does not start when you finish a study. Earnings must first be approved. Geographic eligibility also matters: a suitable activity is not useful if you cannot join. Our Prolific review explains the conditions to examine before choosing it.
Which apps to make money work in France and African countries?
Separate app availability, account admission, and usable payment methods. A French-language page does not prove your country is accepted. A country in a selector does not guarantee admission. Likewise, a PayPal logo does not establish that your account can receive money where you live. You need all the relevant conditions to line up.
Prolific’s participant eligibility list includes France, South Africa, and Egypt. YouGov’s official region selector includes France, Algeria, Morocco, Tunisia, and Mauritania, among other locations. These are specific geographic indications, not promises of available surveys. Swagbucks’ country help mentions some African countries without naming them, so it does not support a country-by-country list.
| Country | Prolific | YouGov | Microtaches | |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| France | France | On eligibility list | In region selector | Approved workers present |
| Madagascar | Madagascar | Not confirmed | Not confirmed | Approved workers present |
| Ivory Coast | Ivory Coast | Not confirmed | Not confirmed | Approved workers present |
| Cameroon | Cameroon | Not confirmed | Not confirmed | Approved workers present |
| Senegal | Senegal | Not confirmed | Not confirmed | Approved workers present |
| Morocco | Morocco | Outside consulted standard list | In region selector | Approved workers present |
| Algeria | Algeria | Outside consulted standard list | In region selector | Not disclosed |
Sources: Prolific Participants — Who can participate in studies on Prolific?; YouGov — official region selector; Microtaches community data, checked in November. YouGov entries mean selector presence only. Microtaches entries mean approved workers are present, not automatic admission or any earnings level.
For Freecash, WeWard, Joko, Toluna, and AttaPoll, exhaustive country lists and local payment options remain to be checked on official sites or in your account. Do not assume an automatic connection to an African wallet. Our guide to online work in French-speaking Africa is a starting point; verify your receiving method before accumulating a balance.
Does a high app-store rating prove an app pays?
No. A rating summarizes evaluations in a particular store, not payment of every reward. It may reflect usability, expectations, or the overall experience. Check the store location, number of ratings, and recent comments about withdrawals. Ratings from different countries should not be presented as a uniform reliability ranking, even when their scores look easy to compare.
| App | Public rating | Displayed ratings | Storefront | |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| WeWard | WeWard | 4.9/5 | 124K | United States |
| Joko | Joko | 4.7/5 | 80K | France |
| Toluna Influencers | Toluna Influencers | 4.6/5 | 8.7K | United States |
| AttaPoll | AttaPoll | 4.6/5 | 26K | France |
| YouGov | YouGov | 4.6/5 | 7.6K | United Kingdom |
Sources: Apple App Store — WeWard, US; Joko, France; Toluna Influencers, US; AttaPoll, France; YouGov, UK. Checked in November; values can change. K means thousand. Different storefronts: this is not a reliability ranking.
A sufficiently complete, contextualized public rating is not confirmed here for Swagbucks, Freecash, or Prolific. Microtaches’ public rating is not disclosed. Leaving that field open is more useful than filling it with a promotional score or a number lacking its storefront and observation date. Missing information should remain visible in a comparison.
Cross-check reviews against official conditions. A withdrawal threshold, an identity check, and a rejected response describe different situations. Look for what happened, at which stage, and under which rule. An isolated positive or negative review does not replace clear withdrawal conditions. Specific details help you understand whether the same issue could affect your account.
Where does Microtaches fit alongside these apps?
Microtaches can complement a walking, cashback, or survey app if you also prefer short tasks. Registration is free, and the team validates every account. The profile questionnaire is mandatory and awards a 10 Ops bonus when completed. Ops are Microtaches’ earning unit. Responses are checked before Ops are credited, so an accepted task is not yet an approved reward.
- An accepted task must receive a response within 60 minutes.
- You can have up to 3 tasks in progress.
- You can abandon a task without a penalty within 10 minutes.
- A task that expires without a response deducts 20 Ops.
- A rushed response may be rejected after manual or automatic verification.
At withdrawal, 1 Ops is worth €0.0042. The minimum request is 5,000 Ops, equivalent to €21, and a nonwithdrawable reserve of 10,000 Ops must remain. You therefore need 15,000 Ops for a first bank withdrawal of 5,000 Ops. The remaining balance is the reserve, not another withdrawal you can immediately request. Plan around the available amount, not total balance value.
| EUR | |
|---|---|
| 1,000 Ops | €4.20 |
| 5,000 Ops | €21 |
| 10,000 Ops | €42 |
| 15,000 Ops | €63 |
| 25,000 Ops | €105 |
Prepare identity verification and withdrawal details early
Identity verification, also called KYC, becomes accessible at a balance of 1,000 Ops. It requires an identity document and proof of address, with processing taking no more than 7 business days. Verification is mandatory before your first withdrawal or first shop order. The receiving payment account must have the same name as your verified identity.
Bank transfers use your IBAN, an identifier for your bank account, and are available from the minimum withdrawal amount. Transfers outside Europe carry a fixed fee of 800 Ops, equivalent to €3.36. MVola, Orange Money, Wave, MTN MoMo, PayPal, Skrill, and Neteller become available at 25,000 Ops; that threshold does not remove the reserve. Revolut and Crypto are listed as coming soon, without a date.
Microtaches withdrawal methods
Your Ops can be withdrawn to a bank account, a mobile money account or an online wallet. Bank transfer is available from the usual minimum; MVola, Orange Money, Wave, MTN MoMo, PayPal, Skrill and Neteller are available from 25,000 Ops; Revolut and Crypto are coming soon. In Readers in France and French-speaking Africa, mobile money is often the most convenient option.
| Type | Availability | Where it is used | |
|---|---|---|---|
| Bank transfer (IBAN) | Bank | Available from the usual minimum | Bank account with an IBAN, in Europe or elsewhere (fixed fee outside Europe) |
| MVola | Mobile money | Available from 25,000 Ops | Madagascar |
| Orange Money | Mobile money | Available from 25,000 Ops | Madagascar, Ivory Coast, Senegal, Cameroon, Mali, Burkina Faso, Guinea, DR Congo… |
| Wave | Mobile money | Available from 25,000 Ops | Senegal, Ivory Coast, Mali, Burkina Faso… |
| MTN MoMo | Mobile money | Available from 25,000 Ops | Ivory Coast, Cameroon, Benin, Guinea, Congo, Ghana… |
| PayPal | Online wallet | Available from 25,000 Ops | Countries where PayPal lets you receive money |
| Skrill | Online wallet | Available from 25,000 Ops | International online wallet |
| Neteller | Online wallet | Available from 25,000 Ops | International online wallet |
| Revolut | Neobank | Coming soon (no date yet) | Coming soon |
| Crypto | Cryptocurrency | Coming soon (no date yet) | Coming soon |
Methods shown on the Withdrawals page of your Microtaches account. Countries listed are examples where the service is common.
A withdrawal can take up to 3 weeks after the request is validated. In the shop, 1,000 Ops represents €8.20 in gift-card value, with orders taking up to 2 weeks. That value is not bank cash. Microtaches also has an internal withdrawal cap of €2,500 per year per worker. See our guide to converting Ops into euros and gift cards.
How can you test money-making apps without wasting your time?
- 1Define your goal
Choose cash received, a useful gift card, or savings on a planned purchase. Keep those outcomes separate.
- 2Check your country and receiving method
Confirm admission, the local catalog, and the account receiving payment. Language availability is not enough.
- 3Read first-withdrawal conditions
Identify the threshold, documents, fees, any reserve, and when the payment timeline begins.
- 4Start without spending
Choose an effort that fits your availability. Do not make an unplanned purchase or deposit to unlock earnings.
- 5Track what becomes available
Record time spent, approved amounts, and any expenses. Reassess the service after requesting a withdrawal.
To judge the result, start with approved rewards and subtract expenses and known fees. Keep pending amounts separate. A long session without a usable reward still costs you time, even if an app displays points or encouraging progress. Track what reaches your chosen outcome, rather than treating every balance increase as money received.
Avoid signing up everywhere just because another offer appears. A smaller selection makes conditions easier to follow and protects your attention. Review the permissions apps request and use different passwords for different accounts. Our guide to data security on online platforms helps you work through those checks before sharing more information.
These services document reward mechanisms, but none is the best choice for every person. Your country, preferred effort, and ability to use the reward matter more than a headline amount.
- Identified publishers for the third-party services compared.
- Different reward mechanisms fit different routines.
- Some payment methods have documented thresholds and timelines.
- Microtaches provides an alternative with explicit withdrawal rules.
- Catalogs and payment options vary by country.
- Several local thresholds still need confirmation.
- Cashback requires spending; other options require time.
- Approval and first-withdrawal conditions can delay payment.
What else should you check before signing up?
The same questions come up repeatedly: the real threshold, the first cashout, PayPal availability, and country access. The answers below bring those distinctions together. Keep the stages separate: an advertised reward, an approved balance, and a payment received are not interchangeable. A service can have a documented payment mechanism while your account still has conditions to fulfill.
- What is the best app to make money?
- There is no universally best app. WeWard may complement walking, Joko a planned purchase, and survey panels questionnaire participation. Prolific offers online research studies; Microtaches offers short tasks. Start with a service accessible in your country and a reward you can actually use. Then compare its effort, first-withdrawal conditions, and payment method rather than choosing by advertised amounts alone.
- Does Swagbucks really pay through PayPal?
- Swagbucks documents PayPal rewards, but that does not prove payment for every participation. Its US-dollar catalog lists a $5 reward for 530 SB and allows up to 10 business days for receipt. That reward may be unavailable. Check your local account catalog: the dollar listing does not automatically establish a French threshold or availability for every account.
- Can I make my first Freecash withdrawal at $5?
- The initial threshold is not confirmed here. Freecash’s official help gives $5 for using PayPal after a first successful withdrawal, which is a different condition. Identity verification is required before the first cashout. Check the conditions in your account for the initial amount, available payment method, and applicable fees before treating $5 as your target.
- How many Wards do I need to withdraw from WeWard?
- The required number of Wards depends on the reward in your catalog and can change. WeWard’s official redemption help does not establish a universal cash minimum or fixed Ward value. It documents bank transfers, gift cards, and donations. Check the current cost of the reward you want when considering a request, rather than relying on a conversion quoted elsewhere.
- Can I get a Joko bank transfer with €15?
- No. Joko’s official balance help distinguishes gift cards starting at €15 from bank transfers starting at €20. Charitable donations have a separate threshold. For bank transfers, Joko states that receipt can take up to 7 business days. Remember that cashback comes from purchases: a growing reward balance is not earnings generated without spending.
- Is AttaPoll’s withdrawal threshold exactly €3 in France?
- That French amount is not confirmed by the official information included here. AttaPoll’s PayPal guide, published in 2022, describes around $3 expressed in local currency, varying by country. Check the threshold currently displayed in your app. The same guide allows up to 72 hours when additional verification is required, so the threshold and payment timeline are separate questions.
- Which apps offer PayPal payments?
- Swagbucks, Freecash, AttaPoll, Toluna, and Prolific document PayPal in their conditions or catalogs, with different limitations. Microtaches offers it starting at 25,000 Ops. These references do not establish availability everywhere. Check both whether the option appears in your platform account and whether your own PayPal account can receive money in your country.
- Does Prolific accept participants from every African country?
- No. Prolific should not be described as open throughout Africa. Its official participant eligibility list includes South Africa and Egypt. Morocco and Algeria are outside the standard list consulted. Check documentation intended for new participants rather than relying on historical researcher population data. A country appearing in older research information does not establish open registration there.
- Why do I need 15,000 Ops for my first Microtaches bank withdrawal?
- Microtaches has a minimum withdrawal request of 5,000 Ops and a nonwithdrawable reserve of 10,000 Ops. A balance of 15,000 Ops therefore lets you request 5,000 Ops, equivalent to €21, while keeping the reserve. Your identity must be verified before that first withdrawal. Other payment methods have their own thresholds, which do not remove the reserve requirement.
- What should I do if an app demands a deposit to unlock earnings?
- Do not pay, and stop the exchange. The FTC identifies demands for deposits, recharges, or fees to receive earnings as scam warning signs. Keep messages and transaction records. If you have already sent money, contact your bank or payment provider promptly, then use official reporting channels. Do not send more money because someone claims another payment will release the balance.