Comparateur

UserTesting Review: How Much Testers Earn and When They Get Paid

This UserTesting review explains test payments, qualification and PayPal payouts, including why Custom Network rates are not universal tester rates. Compare Userlytics, Testbirds, uTest and Microtaches to find a format that fits your equipment, location and availability.

L'équipe MicrotachesUpdated 18 min
UserTesting Review: How Much Testers Earn and When They Get Paid

This UserTesting review focuses on the questions that matter to paid participants: what you do, how much a test pays and when the money arrives. The basic activity is giving feedback on a digital experience. During think-aloud tests, you explain what you understand, expect or find confusing. This is a review of the participant opportunity, not the software subscription businesses purchase to conduct research.

The most important detail comes from UserTesting’s official payment guidance: compensation varies, and each invitation displays its payment amount. A figure quoted in another review does not replace the offer in your dashboard. Our paid product testing guide explains how different testing formats work, so you can distinguish digital feedback from other product-testing opportunities before signing up.

The essential numbers before you applyOfficial sources: UserTesting — FAQ Contributors; Participant Support — FAQ Payments; Contributor Support — Applicant FAQ; Participant Support — How often can I expect to receive tests? Checked in November.
Signup fees
€0
UserTesting does not charge people to become participants.
Announced payment timing
14 days
Automatic payment to verified PayPal; occasional delays are possible.
Minimum application age
18
Requirement stated in the Applicant FAQ.
Weekly average stated by UserTesting
1–2 tests
An announced average for most participants, not an individual quota.

Together, these figures describe an occasional side activity. Applying does not cost money, but it does not secure a fixed workload. Having no payout threshold makes payment for a completed test simpler; it does not create more invitations. Separate three decisions: whether you can join, whether you match a particular study and whether you can receive and withdraw the payment where you live.

Is UserTesting legit for paid testers?

UserTesting has documented application, invitation and payment procedures. Its Contributors FAQ confirms that joining is free, while payment information is available before you take a test. Those are useful signs of a legitimate opportunity. Our assessment is positive for trying the service when its conditions fit your situation. However, acceptance is not automatic, and a legitimate platform can still offer too little work for your personal needs.

You may also encounter the name Auros. According to the official Introducing Auros announcement, the corporate brand became Auros, while UserTesting remains a product brand. That does not mean UserTesting disappeared. For applications or account questions, use official pages and the instructions inside your account. A private message offering accelerated recruitment is not a substitute for the actual signup process, regardless of the branding it uses.

When reading reviews, distinguish paid participants’ experiences from business software reviews and employee opinions. They answer different questions. A participant might appreciate the payment process but dislike unsuccessful screening attempts. Look for practical context: location, application workflow and the specific issue described. An enthusiastic review is not a forecast of your own invitations. Our guide to becoming a product tester helps you set useful expectations.

How much does UserTesting actually pay per test?

The general network has no published universal, guaranteed rate card. In How much do tests pay?, Participant Support explains that compensation depends on test type, duration and demand. Your dashboard’s displayed amount is therefore the relevant offer. Check it before accepting, along with the instructions and expected commitment. Similar-looking invitations do not necessarily carry the same payment, and a public example should not become your assumed minimum.

The published rates belong to a specific network

The official Build-Your-Own test invitations guide lists $10 for an unmoderated test, meaning there is no live conversation with a researcher. It also lists $30 for a 30-minute Live Conversation and $60 for 60 minutes. These figures apply specifically to the paid Custom Network in the Classic experience, the service version covered by that guide. They are not guaranteed general-network rates.

ContextDurationPayment
General-network testDashboard invitationAs shown in invitationDisplayed variable amount
General-network live testDashboard invitationAs shown in invitationDisplayed variable amount
UnmoderatedPaid Custom NetworkNot fixed by this rate card$10
Live ConversationPaid Custom Network30 minutes$30
Live ConversationPaid Custom Network60 minutes$60

Sources: UserTesting Participant Support — How much do tests pay?; UserTesting — Build-Your-Own test invitations, Classic experience. Checked in November. Custom Network rates are not a guaranteed rate card for the general network.

Published paid Custom Network ratesSource: UserTesting — Build-Your-Own test invitations, Classic experience, checked in November. These rates apply only to the paid Custom Network and are not guaranteed for general-network invitations.
Published paid Custom Network rates
USD per test
Unmoderated$10
30-minute live$30
60-minute live$60

That makes “$10 for every 20-minute video” too definite. The official Participant compensation documentation recommends special handling when an unmoderated test exceeds 15–20 minutes; it does not guarantee a duration-and-payment pairing for every invitation. Also consider screening, preparation and uploading time. Dividing a payment by recording time alone does not measure your actual hourly return, especially when suitable tests are not continuously available.

A participant prepares her microphone and computer before a remote usability test.
Clear feedback starts with a quiet space and equipment that is ready.

When do payments arrive in PayPal?

The official UserTesting Payments FAQ states that automatic payment is sent to a verified PayPal account 14 days after completing a test. All payments are in US dollars. Treat that as the announced schedule, not a promise of arrival at an exact hour. Occasional delays can occur, so leave some room rather than timing an essential bill around a pending payment.

The same FAQ says there is no minimum payout threshold. You do not need to accumulate a particular balance before a completed test is paid. Use your own verified PayPal account in your name: the official PayPal Verification Guide prohibits sharing an account between contributors. Borrowing a relative’s account is not a workaround for restrictions. Check your own account’s ability to receive, convert and withdraw funds.

If you use euros or another local currency, the converted amount can differ from the displayed USD payment because of applicable exchange rates and fees. A universal conversion cost is not provided here; check your PayPal account’s terms. Keep payment records as well. The Payments FAQ notes that local tax obligations remain your responsibility. Readers in France can consult our guide to reporting online activity income to French tax authorities.

How do you qualify, and can you test in French?

The official Applicant FAQ requires applicants to be at least 18 and fluent in speaking, reading and writing English, French or German. Fluent French can therefore meet the language requirement without English fluency. However, an accepted application language does not guarantee invitations in that language. You still need to match the study’s language requirements and participant profile.

Why do the qualification instructions differ?

Official pages describe different workflows. The Applicant FAQ presents a practice test before access to tests. Participant Support’s What can I expect during the practice session? describes a first paid test before a practice session becomes available. Its Top tips for your practice session page says passing that session unlocks think-aloud tests. Follow the workflow displayed in your account rather than assuming every applicant completes the same sequence.

The application practice test is unpaid, according to the official Make money online page. For the practice session described by Participant Support, review usually takes 4 days, according to What can I expect during the practice session? That timing applies to this session, not the entire signup process. The page also says the session is computer-only, although other application instructions discuss mobile participation.

Your practical starting sequenceThe exact qualification order depends on the instructions visible in your account.
  1. 1
    Check your access requirements

    Confirm signup eligibility, language fluency and your ability to receive payments through your own verified PayPal account.

  2. 2
    Complete your profile honestly

    Provide your actual country and accurate information. Your profile helps match you with studies seeking relevant participants.

  3. 3
    Prepare your equipment

    Check your microphone, connection and displayed requirements. Choose somewhere you can speak without interruptions.

  4. 4
    Follow your qualification workflow

    Depending on your account’s instructions, practice may precede testing or a session may follow your first paid test.

  5. 5
    Review feedback and invitations

    Apply any feedback you receive. Before accepting a test, read its payment amount, conditions and equipment requirements.

For spoken feedback, explain your thinking instead of simply reading everything on the screen. Describe what you are looking for, what you expect to happen and why an instruction feels clear or confusing. You do not need to praise the product. Useful feedback is understandable and honest. When instructions explicitly ask you to think aloud, avoid long silent stretches that leave the researcher guessing about your experience.

What equipment do you need to get started?

Participant Support’s System requirements page lists 64-bit Windows 10 or later, or macOS 12 Monterey or later. You can check your system version in its settings. For these computers, it specifies 8 GB of RAM, the memory used while programs run, and 20 GB of free storage. It also requires at least 5 Mbps upload speed, which measures how quickly your connection sends data.

WindowsMacAndroid
Minimum systemWindows 10, 64-bitmacOS 12 MontereyAndroid 10
RAM8 GB8 GBCheck official requirements
Free storage20 GB20 GBCheck official requirements
Upload speed5 Mbps5 MbpsCheck official requirements
MicrophoneFor spoken feedbackFor spoken feedbackFor spoken feedback
Described practice session

Sources: UserTesting Participant Support — System requirements; What can I expect during the practice session?; Participant guide: How to give great feedback. Checked in November. ✓/✗ applies only to the practice session described by Participant Support, not every application workflow.

There is a practical complication: the marketing FAQ and technical help center list different requirements. The table above follows Participant Support. Before buying equipment, check the requirements attached to your own workflow rather than relying on the least demanding page. The technical page lists Android 10 or later. For an iPhone or iPad, check the exact official conditions; do not assume every device or system version will work.

A working microphone is needed for spoken-feedback tests, according to How to give great feedback. A webcam is not universally required; the invitation determines the equipment needed. Close notifications and personal documents before recording so unrelated information stays private. If you mainly want to use your phone, our guide to earning money by testing mobile apps explains the practical constraints of that format.

Can you join from France or an African country?

UserTesting does not publish a fixed list of countries currently open for signup. Participant Support’s Can I join the UserTesting Network from my country? explains that availability changes with supply and demand. The official application form is your first check. A country appearing in business-facing recruitment documentation does not necessarily mean new participants from that country can join at the same moment.

France appears among standard recruitment countries offered to businesses in Which countries can I test in? That is useful context, not individual admission. South Africa appears in Additional country filters, with the same distinction. For Madagascar, Senegal, Côte d’Ivoire, Cameroon, Benin or Morocco, check current opening status on the application form. Do not treat a broad claim about worldwide availability as confirmation for your particular country.

Payment access is a separate check. PayPal’s presence in a country does not establish every receiving or withdrawal function, or UserTesting eligibility. Confirm the functions you need before spending time applying. Our guide to PayPal in Madagascar, Cameroon and Morocco helps distinguish having access to the service from being able to receive and use earnings. Signup access and a workable payment route both matter.

  • Check the application form using your actual country.
  • Confirm what your own PayPal account can receive and withdraw.
  • Do not bypass restrictions with a borrowed address or payment account.
  • If signup is unavailable, look for an alternative compatible with your location.

How many UserTesting tests can you expect each week?

In How often can I expect to receive tests?, UserTesting says most participants complete an average of one or two tests per week. Keep that figure attributed to the platform: it is not a weekly allocation for everyone who joins. The page does not supply median monthly earnings or an average measure of screening time. Seeing an invitation also does not mean you qualify for the study.

Availability varies by day, country, profile and demand. A study may need experience you do not have, a different device or a particular language. Failing a screener, the questions used to check eligibility, is not automatically a quality problem. You may simply be outside the audience being recruited. That makes testing better suited to occasional opportunities than an amount you can reliably put into your monthly budget.

To judge whether the platform is worthwhile for you, track the time you spend reviewing invitations, answering screeners, completing tests and handling technical problems. Compare that with payments actually received. This tells you more than a headline hourly rate based only on recording time. For other approaches to online research, see our legitimate paid survey guide and Prolific review.

Do ratings affect your test invitations?

In the Classic experience, businesses can rate a participant’s helpfulness from 1 to 5 stars. The official Rate and follow up with your contributors page says highly rated contributors receive tests first. The Ratings FAQ calculates a contributor’s rating from their last 12 rated tests. This is an assessment of your testing feedback, not a public review score for UserTesting itself or a direct measure of earnings.

Not every test necessarily receives a rating. The Ratings FAQ also says UserTesting reviews tests rated 1 or 2 stars, so a single low rating does not automatically mean removal. Read the available feedback and revisit the instructions. Accuracy matters during screening too: the official Screeners FAQ says accepting a test through false answers can result in removal from the network. Do not change your story just to qualify.

Good feedback does not mean finding everything pleasant. Explaining a genuine difficulty can be valuable; distracted feedback without an explanation may miss the test’s purpose. For safety, focus on what someone asks you to provide: fees, deposits to unlock earnings, secret codes or work moved to WhatsApp or Telegram. Being paid for an online activity is not itself evidence of a scam. Requests that put your money or account access at risk are the warning.

Useful trust signals and red flagsAn unsuccessful screener is not a fraud signal. A request for money or a secret code should make you stop.
  • Good sign:You use official pages and your own account.
  • Good sign:Payment and instructions are visible before you commit.
  • Good sign:You use your own verified payment account.
  • Good sign:You provide accurate profile information.
  • Warning sign:Someone requests a fee to give you access to tests.
  • Warning sign:You must top up an account or deposit money to unlock earnings.
  • Warning sign:Someone asks for a secret code or a code received by SMS.
  • Warning sign:Someone moves your work off-platform to WhatsApp or Telegram.

How do Userlytics, Testbirds and uTest compare?

Compare the conditions, not just a prominently advertised payment. Userlytics shows the reward before a test, according to its official Paid UX testing page. Testbirds’ Nest signup page gives around €20 as an example for a regular usability test, which examines ease of use. That is not a guaranteed payment for every assignment. uTest’s How can I earn money on uTest? says approved-work rates vary with project complexity and testing cycles.

UserTestingUserlyticsTestbirdsuTest
CompensationVariable by invitationReward displayedExample: around €20Variable by cycle
Universal rate cardNot disclosedNot disclosedNot disclosedNot disclosed
Amount visible before testingCheck official siteCheck official site
Payout minimumNoneCheck official site€6 or equivalentCheck official site
Payment schedule14 days announcedFridays every 2 weeks, after approvalCheck official site15th and last day of month; may shift
Payment methodsVerified PayPalPayPalCheck official siteCountry-dependent: PayPal, Payoneer, bank via Wise

Official sources, checked in November: UserTesting — How much do tests pay? and FAQ Payments; Userlytics — Paid UX testing, When will I get paid? and Terms of Service Testers; Testbirds — Nest tester signup and FAQ; uTest — How can I earn money on uTest?, When will I receive my money? and What do I need to do to get paid? Testbirds’ €20 is an approximate example. Userlytics’ schedule applies to approved tests. uTest payment methods depend on country, and a payment date may move to the next business day.

Payment schedules differ too. Userlytics’ When will I get paid? page describes PayPal payments on Fridays every 2 weeks for approved tests. Its tester terms specify payment no later than 30 days after full completion; this is not an exact countdown for every test. Testbirds’ FAQ sets a €6 minimum or currency equivalent. uTest’s payment guidance lists the 15th and last day of the month, moving to the next business day when necessary.

The official uTest payment options include PayPal, Payoneer and direct bank transfer powered by Wise, subject to country availability. That can matter if PayPal is not suitable for you. For a different activity, our mystery shopping guide explains another approach. More accounts do not automatically produce more invitations, so prioritize platforms you can actually access and get paid through.

Where does Microtaches fit alongside UserTesting?

Microtaches may complement testing if you also want short tasks with displayed instructions. It is not an identical testing network. Signup is free, each account is approved by the team, and the profile questionnaire is mandatory. Completing it adds a 10 Ops bonus. Responses are checked manually or automatically before Ops are credited. As with other online opportunities, task availability varies by day, country and profile.

How do withdrawals and gift cards work?

Ops are the earnings unit: 1 Ops converts to €0.0042 for withdrawals or €0.0082 in the gift card shop. The withdrawal minimum is 5,000 Ops, with a separate 10,000 Ops reserve that cannot be withdrawn. Your balance must therefore reach 15,000 Ops for a first withdrawal of 5,000 Ops, worth €21. Our guide to converting Ops into euros and gift cards explains the distinction.

Ops conversion value before reserve and feesSource: Microtaches conversion rules, checked in November. Calculation: Ops × €0.0042. These nominal values are not available withdrawal amounts: the 10,000 Ops reserve, minimums and any applicable fees still apply.
Ops conversion value before reserve and fees
EUR withdrawal conversion value
1,000 Ops€4.20
5,000 Ops€21
15,000 Ops€63
25,000 Ops€105

Identity verification, called KYC, becomes accessible at a balance of 1,000 Ops. It requires an identity document and proof of address, and processing takes no more than 7 business days. Verification is mandatory before your first withdrawal or gift card order. The receiving account must be in your name, matching the verified identity document. Our account verification guide explains how to prepare the required documents.

Microtaches withdrawal rules to know before starting

Your Ops can be withdrawn to a bank account, a mobile money account or an online wallet. Bank transfer is available from the usual minimum; MVola, Orange Money, Wave, MTN MoMo, PayPal, Skrill and Neteller are available from 25,000 Ops; Revolut and Crypto are coming soon. In French-speaking readers in France and Africa, mobile money is often the most convenient option.

TypeAvailabilityWhere it is used
Bank transfer (IBAN)BankAvailable from the usual minimumBank account with an IBAN, in Europe or elsewhere (fixed fee outside Europe)
MVolaMobile moneyAvailable from 25,000 OpsMadagascar
Orange MoneyMobile moneyAvailable from 25,000 OpsMadagascar, Ivory Coast, Senegal, Cameroon, Mali, Burkina Faso, Guinea, DR Congo…
WaveMobile moneyAvailable from 25,000 OpsSenegal, Ivory Coast, Mali, Burkina Faso…
MTN MoMoMobile moneyAvailable from 25,000 OpsIvory Coast, Cameroon, Benin, Guinea, Congo, Ghana…
PayPalOnline walletAvailable from 25,000 OpsCountries where PayPal lets you receive money
SkrillOnline walletAvailable from 25,000 OpsInternational online wallet
NetellerOnline walletAvailable from 25,000 OpsInternational online wallet
RevolutNeobankComing soon (no date yet)Coming soon
CryptoCryptocurrencyComing soon (no date yet)Coming soon

Methods shown on the Withdrawals page of your Microtaches account. Countries listed are examples where the service is common.

Bank transfer using an IBAN, your bank account identifier, is available from the withdrawal minimum. Transfers outside Europe cost 800 Ops, equivalent to €3.36. MVola, Orange Money, Wave, MTN MoMo, PayPal, Skrill and Neteller become available from 25,000 Ops; the reserve still applies. Revolut and Crypto are listed as coming soon, without an announced date. Payoneer and Wise, mentioned above for uTest, are not offered by Microtaches.

A withdrawal can take up to 3 weeks after the request is validated. Gift card orders can take up to 2 weeks; in the shop, 1,000 Ops represents €8.20 in gift card value. Microtaches has an internal withdrawal cap of €2,500 per year per worker. These conditions differ from UserTesting’s no-threshold payment model. Choose based on the activity format, receiving method and waiting time—not conversion value alone.

Our verdict on UserTesting

UserTesting is worth considering for occasional paid tests if your country, equipment and PayPal account are compatible. Its strongest practical feature is seeing compensation before accepting a test. Its main limitation is unpredictable opportunity volume. Microtaches can complement it with a different format, but its withdrawal minimums and reserve need careful consideration.

Strengths
  • Free signup for participants.
  • Payment amount displayed for each invitation.
  • No minimum UserTesting payout threshold.
  • Fluent French can meet the application language requirement.
  • Detailed official guidance on compensation and feedback quality.
Limitations
  • No guaranteed individual test volume.
  • Unsuccessful screening attempts take time.
  • A verified PayPal account is required for payments.
  • Qualification and equipment guidance differ across official pages.
  • Custom Network rates must not be confused with general-network offers.
Best for: People with occasional availability who can follow instructions and give clear feedback, using compatible equipment and their own verified PayPal account.

What else should paid testers know?

If something goes wrong, keep the test identifier and relevant details, then contact official support through your account. Explain the issue clearly rather than sending sensitive information to a private contact who claims to help. Preparing your recording environment also reduces avoidable privacy problems. Our guide to data security on online work platforms covers habits that help keep personal information separate from platform activity.

Is UserTesting legitimate or a scam?
UserTesting has official application, compensation and payment rules. Its Contributors FAQ confirms that joining is free. It is a legitimate option for occasional paid tests, but regular invitations are not assured. Avoid intermediaries requesting access fees, account top-ups, deposits to unlock earnings or secret codes. Apply and manage your participation through official pages.
Does a 20-minute UserTesting test always pay $10?
No. Participant Support says compensation varies with test type, duration and demand, and each invitation shows its amount. The $10 figure in the Build-Your-Own guide applies to an unmoderated test in the paid Custom Network’s Classic experience. It does not guarantee either the payment or duration of a general-network test.
How much does a 30- or 60-minute Live Conversation pay?
The official Build-Your-Own test invitations guide lists $30 for 30 minutes and $60 for 60 minutes in the paid Custom Network’s Classic experience. These are not guaranteed rates for the general network. For your own participation, check the payment and duration shown in the invitation before accepting or scheduling the conversation.
When does UserTesting pay through PayPal, and is there a minimum?
UserTesting’s Payments FAQ announces automatic payment 14 days after test completion, in US dollars, to a verified PayPal account. There is no minimum payout threshold. Occasional delays can happen. Also confirm that your own PayPal account can receive the funds and that conversion or withdrawal is available under the conditions in your country.
Is the UserTesting qualification test paid?
The application practice test is unpaid, according to the official Make money online page. However, official workflows differ: the Applicant FAQ describes practice before testing, while Participant Support describes a practice session after a first paid test. Follow your account’s instructions instead of assuming every qualification process has the same order.
Can I test in French without speaking English?
French can meet the application requirement. The Applicant FAQ requires fluency in speaking, reading and writing English, French or German. That does not guarantee a particular number of French-language invitations. You must understand the language required for an individual test and explain your thinking clearly when its instructions call for spoken feedback.
Can I join UserTesting from France or an African country?
Check the official application form because signup availability changes with supply and demand. France appears in business-facing recruitment options, but that does not guarantee individual admission. For an African country, check registration availability separately from payment access. Your own PayPal account must support the receiving and withdrawal functions you need.
Can I use UserTesting with only a smartphone?
Do not assume the entire process is available on a phone. Some official application instructions discuss mobile participation, but the practice session described by Participant Support is computer-only. Individual invitations may also require a specific device. Check your account’s workflow and the test requirements before committing or purchasing equipment.
How many tests will I get, and why do I fail screeners?
In How often can I expect to receive tests?, UserTesting states an average of one or two weekly tests for most participants. This is not an individual quota. Screening failures may simply mean your profile does not match the study. Availability varies by day, country and profile; never invent answers to qualify.
Can a low rating reduce my invitations?
In the Classic experience, UserTesting prioritizes highly rated contributors, according to Rate and follow up with your contributors. The Ratings FAQ uses the last 12 rated tests and says tests receiving 1 or 2 stars are reviewed. A low rating does not automatically mean removal. Read the feedback and improve the clarity and accuracy of future responses.